Awakening

All Rights Reserved ©

Summary

Centuries ago, the prophetic Golden Age ended in war, and history spiraled into darkness. Now, only scholars retain the last portent of the mythic city A’lara, concealed in a distant glade for the advent of the dragon mage. At the edge of the Known World, the slave Larin escapes her new lord before she meets his dark masters. Deep in the mountains, the legendary elf Kingard awaits his call to battle. When young Darek flees imperial mages tasked to exterminate shape-shifters, he launches them all on a voyage to redeem their unsought destiny. United by fate and guided by prophesy, their growing band of fugitives journey for A’lara to fight the ancient evil infiltrating the capital. But looming over the gears of fate, their enemies follow the same prophesies. With the unknown close upon them, Kingard and his allies face a mortal quest to restore their infected empire.

Genre:
Fantasy / Adventure
Author:
D.N.Frost
Status:
Complete
Chapters:
46
Rating:
4.9 13 reviews
Age Rating:
16+

Table of Contents

Hello, dear reader! This novel was originally published in 2014, and it contains a number of maps of the Known World, which cannot be displayed through Inkitt. Each chapter is accompanied by a unique map, and the map region is used as a chapter title.

View maps of the Known World at www.DNFrost.com/maps

Also, because Inkitt prefers shorter chapters, this novel’s 14 chapters have been divided into smaller sections. This table of contents reflects the original formatting.




KHOLL & THE FIRST MOVEMENT:
FROM BROKEN DREAMS
Chapter I: The Khollek Mountains
Chapter II: The Sutek Desert
Chapter III: The Forests of Kalrein
Chapter IV: The Draconan Mountains
Chapter V: The D’jed Mountains

THE PLAINS OF RISHI & SECOND MOVEMENT:
ASTRIDE THE RIFT
Chapter I : The Back Rishi
Chapter II: The Katei Ocean
Chapter III: Kanata

OLD RYERIN & THE THIRD MOVEMENT:
TO WANING LIGHT
Chapter I: The Front Rishi
Chapter II: The Gulf of Lohki
Chapter III: The Desperate Sea

THE NINE HELLS & FOURTH MOVEMENT:
THE TIDE OF GRIEF
Chapter I: The Glades of Despair
Chapter II: The Eighth Hell
Chapter III: A’lara City


BONUS: Worldbuilding Resources

PROPHESY APPENDIX
www.DNFrost.com/prophesy

LANGUAGE APPENDIX
www.DNFrost.com/language

MAGIC APPENDIX
www.DNFrost.com/magic




The rest of this “chapter” contains the front matter for the published book: advanced praise, my publication list, copyright, dedication, and acknowledgments.

Scroll through if you’re interested, or skip straight to the next chapter to start reading!




Incredible world-building!”
M.L Spencer, author of The Rhenwars Saga

Praise for groundbreaking author
D.N.Frost’s Tales of the Known World novels

AWAKENING

“I was on the edge of my seat as I turned each page. Looking for a novel that is hard to put down? Look no further. A fantasy novel you will never forget!” – Steven Daniel Books

“Unique world-building with magical imagery that delights the senses. Maps are sprinkled throughout . . . The climatic ending is fast-paced and takes unexpected turns. I recommend to readers who love world-building and vivid imagery of how magic works.” – Linnea Tanner, New Apple Summer and Global Ebooks award-winning author of the Curse of Clansmen and Kings series

“A rare treat, a spark of uniqueness that makes [fantasy] feel new again. Both gripping and beautiful, the book fantasy fans only dreamed about until now.” – Readers’ Favorite

“Anyone who likes epic fantasy is going to love this saga.” – Alberto Guaita Tello, author of The Eyes of the Sea

“Wow. Top-notch . . . contains several subtle forms of brilliance that induce a deep, cerebral pause. The author does an excellent job.” – Jocelyn Crawley, editor of WordHelps

“As beautifully written as it is captivating.” Alithea G. of California

“The world brought to life is so amazing and rich with culture. I haven’t felt this strongly about a book since The Dark Elf Trilogy by R.A. Salvatore. I can hardly wait for the next book!” – J.R. Cooper of Texas

“A truly good book. It’s hard to put down.” Edward O. of Michigan

“One of the most amazing books I’ve ever had the pleasure to read! Frost really knows how to enrapture the reader and create a fantastic world.” – Bellatrix L.S. of Texas (starred review)

“Hell of an end. Can’t wait for more!” – Julia D. of New Jersey

“Ideal for fans of Andre Norton, Mercedes Lackey, Brent Weeks. Gripping, fluidly written. Frost’s characters are involved, complex and brimming with an enlightened spark.” – Jessie H. of Texas (starred review)

“Unbridled, uncontrived, and groundbreaking. This story really stands out, with puzzle pieces that snap together in satisfying succession. Keep ’em coming!” – Jesse V. of Michigan

“Gripping from the very first page, the story unfolds like a great epic tapestry. Want fantasy, dragons, and a book you just can’t stop reading? Go for it.” – Albert of U.S.A. (starred review)

“Once I started it, I couldn’t put it down. As you read – no, consume – this book, you are pulled along with the whirlwind of the character’s experience. Bravo!” – Sarah D. of New York (starred review)

“You won’t be able to put it down! The characters are center-stage, but Frost also creates a world that becomes vivid in the reader’s imagination.” – Mike B. of Pennsylvania (starred review)

“Very well written fantasy, exciting and gripping, [with] a whole world supplied freely by the author’s website. Become lost in an engaging plot and a very plausible alternative world.” – Cathy of U.K. (starred review)

“Poetic prophecies, detailed maps, and a tense plot. Traditional fantasy races and creatures all have a twist to them. Frost manages the cast of distinctive characters and weaves their stories through many unexpected twists and turns.” – Readers’ Favorite

“Frost is a consummate world-builder. Characters are complex and three-dimensional. If you love Anne McCaffrey, J.R.R. Tolkien and Tad Williams, Awakening is a novel you want. The plot is fast-paced and entertaining. A spectacular accomplishment.” – M.L Spencer, author of the Rhenwars Saga

Advanced praise for BROKEN

“The characterization was impressive. Frost made unlikable, seemingly irredeemable characters rootable, or at least sympathetic. Fast-paced, humor, tension, excitement, foreboding, heartbreaking. Excellent sequel!” – Dana V.

“Exciting, suspenseful, and constantly left me wanting more. I felt a connection with every character that stretched over a very wide range of emotions. I eagerly wait for the next installment.” – J.R. Cooper

“Frost does a fantastic job of creating full worlds and dynamic characters, as well as character relationships, all tied together with heady imagery. Plus, subscribing to her website gets you free access to all sorts of neat things to bring you closer to this wonderful fantasy world.” – Savannah B.




Also by D.N.Frost
Tales of the Known World

Set I ~ Chronicles of Mother’s Gate
PORTENTS OF MOTHER’S GATE ~ Story Book
First Bookend ~ SCRIBE ASCRIBED & TRIBE UNTIED
AWAKENING ~ Book One
Second Bookend ~ WAKING UP & FALLING DOWN
BROKEN ~ Book Two
Third Bookend ~ VAST ASLEEP & RIDE AWAKE

Coming Soon

CONCEIVED ~ Book Three
DIVINE ~ Book Four
Set II ~ The Rise of the House of Grishem

Additional Titles

For Kindle ~ FANTASY MAP MAKER JUMP START: 61 Easy Tips for Fantasy World Building with Real Earth Science




TOTKW
Published by TotKW Books
An imprint of D.N.Frost Publications
Copyright © 2020 by D.N.Frost

D.N.Frost Publications endorses copyright and creative ownership. Thank you for supporting authors and free speech by upholding copyright law and buying an official copy of this publication. This book may not be reproduced in whole or in part, in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording, or by any information storage and retrieval system now known or hereafter invented, without written permission from the publisher, except for the use of brief quotations in a book review.

Tales of the Known World Saga
www.DNFrost.com
ISBN: 979-8618679886
All rights reserved under the Pan-American and International Copyright Conventions.

First Publication, 2014
Printed in the United States of America
10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3
Cover art, cover design, book design, and maps by D.N.Frost
This book is a work of fiction.




For you, and for me.




ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

There are so many people who helped make this book possible. I cannot hope to thank them all. I can start with my loving family, especially my mother and my aunt Dana, for encouraging my dreams even when they were a distant reality.

Thanks to my thoughtful editors Cease and Jesse, who gave my manuscript the final polish it needed, and whose polish gave me the boost of confidence I needed to push through to the end.

I want to thank the friends who read my work and provided crucial encouragement on the long and rocky road to publishing. In particular, thanks to Remy, Trixie, Jesse, Kaitlyn, and Blue for your support and enthusiasm.

Very special appreciation goes out to Lindsay, without whom these stories would never have been. Thank you for the nexus that became so much more than either of us dared to dream.

I must thank the people who read this book in its infancy, when the debut edition arose from obscurity and first began to shine. The time you took to share your thoughts made my toils worth it. Your reviews remind me why my work matters in the first place.

And thank you, dear reader, for becoming part of my adventure.

Continue Reading Next Chapter
Further Recommendations

Kenna Schock: It’s been pretty good so far. It’s exactly like some of the ones I usually read and would definitely recommend it to anyone who also reads similarly to me.

Clarissa Fallorina: Very good read. Will definitely recommend to fellow book worms!

chie: Its painful to be rejected

Tara Ellison: Lovee it! I can't wait for the ending

kelseyrosa89: Thus series is so amazing! ♥️ I could not stop reading.

Tina Patterson-Lowery: Loving it so far took me a few to get use to the thought of that many mates but so far its great

Wanda Colson Center: Needs edits for grammatical errors, but overall, I love this book as well.

rejoicefavourchiam1: I love this book sooooo much... It's so amazing. Exactly what I needed.

More Recommendations

Jul_._badissh: This best story i ave read somce i started on this app.... Continue ur doing great

Tasha: One very well written First in the series! It definitely evokes a wide range of emotions while reading! From love to sorrow and many more in between. Lucy fights for her life & the life she deserves. Definitely worth reading!

Wanda Colson Center: Wonderful story! Can't wait to read book 3!

Rita Mcintyre: You are very good at helping us visualize and feel what the characters are doing! Makes me wish this was true because I would love to have a mate who loves as completely as you portrays! Great job again 🙃

Gypsy rose: Good grammar... Excellent plot and twist.. Good job author 👍😊😊👏

About Us

Inkitt is the world’s first reader-powered publisher, providing a platform to discover hidden talents and turn them into globally successful authors. Write captivating stories, read enchanting novels, and we’ll publish the books our readers love most on our sister app, GALATEA and other formats.