Broken

All Rights Reserved ©

Summary

Centuries ago, the prophetic Golden Age ended in war, and history spiraled into darkness. Now, the saga continues as our heroes prepare for a dark invasion in the hollow aftermath of A'lara's unbinding. Deep within the mountain fortress of Sierlyn, the legendary elf Kingard frees the captive empress of Allana. Under the elf's watchful eye, the new Light Master Jorn strives to redeem the stains of his past betrayal. When the unwitting dark mage Haisrir embarks for distant Kholl, he unleashes the gravest threat of all. Divided in purpose and forsaken by prophesy, their fractured band splinters under the burdens of impending war. But looming beyond the eastern horizon, their enemies ready a ghastly armada. Without new portents to guide them, Kingard and his allies face a blind scramble to defend their imperiled empire.

Genre:
Fantasy / Adventure
Author:
D.N.Frost
Status:
Complete
Chapters:
21
Rating:
n/a
Age Rating:
16+

Table of Contents

Hello, dear reader! This novel will be published in 2021, and it contains a number of maps of the Known World, which cannot be displayed through Inkitt. Each chapter is accompanied by a unique map, and the map region is used as a chapter title.

View maps of the Known World at www.DNFrost.com/upcoming

Also, because Inkitt prefers shorter chapters, this novel’s 20 chapters have been divided into smaller sections. This table of contents reflects the original formatting.




THE ALLANIC EMPIRE & LARIN’S MOVEMENT:
BY LAND
Chapter I: The Glades of Despair
Chapter II: The City A’lara
Chapter III: The Ring of Yuuny’ii
Chapter IV: The Inner Empire
Chapter V: Lowtown

THE NINE HELLS & JORN’S MOVEMENT:
BY DAY
Chapter I: The Khollek Mountains
Chapter II: The Forests of Kalrein
Chapter III: The Sutek Desert
Chapter IV: Dua Daralel
Chapter V: The Kelp Beds of Sonne Rovikya

THE KATEI OCEAN & TIRROK’S MOVEMENT:
BY SEA
Chapter I: The Reefs of Seyodi Rovikya
Chapter II: The Reefs of Rajaweh Rovikya
Chapter III: The Ring of Luul’waale
Chapter IV: New Ryerin
Chapter V: The East Katei

THE BACK RISHI & VARYAN’S MOVEMENT:
BY NIGHT
Chapter I: The Front Rishi
Chapter II: The Reefs of Dynde
Chapter III: The Eastern Front
Chapter IV: Pebble Beach
Chapter V: The Red Sea

BONUS: Worldbuilding Resources

PROPHESY APPENDIX
www.DNFrost.com/prophesy

LANGUAGE APPENDIX
www.DNFrost.com/language

MAGIC APPENDIX
www.DNFrost.com/magic




The rest of this “chapter” contains the front matter for the published book: advanced praise, my publication list, copyright, dedication, and acknowledgments.

Scroll through if you’re interested, or skip straight to the next chapter to start reading!




Incredible world-building!”M.L Spencer, author of The Rhenwars Saga

Praise for groundbreaking author
D.N.Frost’s Tales of the Known World novels

AWAKENING

“I was on the edge of my seat as I turned each page. Looking for a novel that is hard to put down? Look no further. A fantasy novel you will never forget!” – Steven Daniel Books

“Unique world-building with magical imagery that delights the senses. Maps are sprinkled throughout . . . The climatic ending is fast-paced and takes unexpected turns. I recommend to readers who love world-building and vivid imagery of how magic works.” – Linnea Tanner, New Apple Summer and Global Ebooks award-winning author of the Curse of Clansmen and Kings series

“A rare treat, a spark of uniqueness that makes [fantasy] feel new again. Both gripping and beautiful, the book fantasy fans only dreamed about until now.” – Readers’ Favorite

“Anyone who likes epic fantasy is going to love this saga.” – Alberto Guaita Tello, author of The Eyes of the Sea

“Wow. Top-notch . . . contains several subtle forms of brilliance that induce a deep, cerebral pause. The author does an excellent job.” – Jocelyn Crawley, editor of WordHelps

“As beautifully written as it is captivating.” Alithea G. of California

“The world brought to life is so amazing and rich with culture. I haven’t felt this strongly about a book since The Dark Elf Trilogy by R.A. Salvatore. I can hardly wait for the next book!” – J.R. Cooper of Texas

“A truly good book. It’s hard to put down.” Edward O. of Michigan

“One of the most amazing books I’ve ever had the pleasure to read! Frost really knows how to enrapture the reader and create a fantastic world.” – Bellatrix L.S. of Texas (starred review)

“Hell of an end. Can’t wait for more!” – Julia D. of New Jersey

“Ideal for fans of Andre Norton, Mercedes Lackey, Brent Weeks. Gripping, fluidly written. Frost’s characters are involved, complex and brimming with an enlightened spark.” – Jessie H. of Texas (starred review)

“Unbridled, uncontrived, and groundbreaking. This story really stands out, with puzzle pieces that snap together in satisfying succession. Keep ’em coming!” – Jesse V. of Michigan

“Gripping from the very first page, the story unfolds like a great epic tapestry. Want fantasy, dragons, and a book you just can’t stop reading? Go for it.” – Albert of U.S.A. (starred review)

“Once I started it, I couldn’t put it down. As you read – no, consume – this book, you are pulled along with the whirlwind of the character’s experience. Bravo!” – Sarah D. of New York (starred review)

“You won’t be able to put it down! The characters are center-stage, but Frost also creates a world that becomes vivid in the reader’s imagination.” – Mike B. of Pennsylvania (starred review)

“Very well written fantasy, exciting and gripping, [with] a whole world supplied freely by the author’s website. Become lost in an engaging plot and a very plausible alternative world.” – Cathy of U.K. (starred review)

“Poetic prophecies, detailed maps, and a tense plot. Traditional fantasy races and creatures all have a twist to them. Frost manages the cast of distinctive characters and weaves their stories through many unexpected twists and turns.” – Readers’ Favorite

“Frost is a consummate world-builder. Characters are complex and three-dimensional. If you love Anne McCaffrey, J.R.R. Tolkien and Tad Williams, Awakening is a novel you want. The plot is fast-paced and entertaining. A spectacular accomplishment.” – M.L Spencer, author of the Rhenwars Saga

Advanced praise for BROKEN

“The characterization was impressive. Frost made unlikable, seemingly irredeemable characters rootable, or at least sympathetic. Fast-paced, humor, tension, excitement, foreboding, heartbreaking. Excellent sequel!” – Dana V.

“Exciting, suspenseful, and constantly left me wanting more. I felt a connection with every character that stretched over a very wide range of emotions. I eagerly wait for the next installment.” – J.R. Cooper

“Frost does a fantastic job of creating full worlds and dynamic characters, as well as character relationships, all tied together with heady imagery. Plus, subscribing to her website gets you free access to all sorts of neat things to bring you closer to this wonderful fantasy world.” – Savannah B.




Also by D.N.Frost
Tales of the Known World

Set I ~ Chronicles of Mother’s Gate
PORTENTS OF MOTHER’S GATE ~ Story Book
First Bookend ~ SCRIBE ASCRIBED & TRIBE UNTIED
AWAKENING ~ Book One
Second Bookend ~ WAKING UP & FALLING DOWN
BROKEN ~ Book Two
Third Bookend ~ VAST ASLEEP & RIDE AWAKE

Coming Soon

CONCEIVED ~ Book Three
DIVINE ~ Book Four
Set II ~ The Rise of the House of Grishem

Additional Titles

For Kindle ~ FANTASY MAP MAKER JUMP START: 61 Easy Tips for Fantasy World Building with Real Earth Science




TOTKW
Published by TotKW Books
An imprint of D.N.Frost Publications
Copyright © 2021 by D.N.Frost

D.N.Frost Publications endorses copyright and creative ownership. Thank you for supporting authors and free speech by upholding copyright law and buying an official copy of this publication. This book may not be reproduced in whole or in part, in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording, or by any information storage and retrieval system now known or hereafter invented, without written permission from the publisher, except for the use of brief quotations in a book review.

Tales of the Known World Saga
www.DNFrost.com
ISBN: 978-1689844550
All rights reserved under the Pan-American and International Copyright Conventions.

First Publication, 2021
Printed in the United States of America
10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1
Cover art, cover design, book design, and maps by D.N.Frost
This book is a work of fiction.




For us, and for them.




ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

This book took an astounding amount of effort over the course of six years, and countless people helped me make it to the finish line. I must thank my aunt Dana for her late-night talks and boundless enthusiasm, as well as her assistance with editing.

I want to thank my other editors Remy and Blue, whose excitement about this story helped motivate me through the challenges of the book’s launch. And I want to thank Jesse, whose unbiased story feedback has meant the world to me.

Thanks to my friends who endured countless hours of me talking about these stories and the world where they happen. Specifically, thanks to Tamara and Wannyda for getting excited with me.

As always, very special appreciation goes out to Lindsay, without whom these stories never would have been.

I also must thank each person who’s provided a book review. You took time out of your day to share your thoughts, and your feedback is truly invaluable. I am writing for you, after all, and it means so much to know that my work has hit its mark.

Lastly, thank you, dear reader, for picking up this book and becoming part of my adventure.

Continue Reading Next Chapter
Further Recommendations

Ada Varela: Loved it short but beautifully put together.

Melissa: I loved this story! It was so captivating that I couldn’t put it down! -totally addicted! It’s impossible not to fall in love with these characters. Eve is so kind, considerate, and badass all at the same time. Alex, well, one word: yummy! Fay is probably my breakout favorite, I love how fierce a...

Sunita Patil: Good......lets read....wish to completely finished....

Paula Patuwai: Liked everything about the book

Gracy: Ummm...I like the way the author was so discriptive .Overall the plotting was good but quite confusing too but it was nice

scholtenD: I thought is was een really good book. I couldn't stp reading once i started. Too bad it was a short story, but i can't wait to read the other books.

Kathleen Love: I love the unity of the fate mates and how they are always so kind to each other’s feelings . Great storytelling

Kaye May Bartlett: I loved the whole story about shifters

More Recommendations

Kathleen Love: So glad the sisters are going to be together soon I hope you have more great fate mates

Courtney: I absolutely LOVE this series. I find myself starting a new book before I even realize one had ended. I've read many books about shifters but none have held my attention the way these do.

reeg122008: Good book! I am really enjoying the storyline. I haven't been able to stop reading as I can't wait to see what happens next. Great job!

Sarah Smith: Reading a good story like this one, I suggest you join NovelStar’s writing competition this April.

Tania Pennicott: I don't know

Jennifer Leigh Anne Ciliska: Awesome read thank you for sharing your story with me

About Us

Inkitt is the world’s first reader-powered publisher, providing a platform to discover hidden talents and turn them into globally successful authors. Write captivating stories, read enchanting novels, and we’ll publish the books our readers love most on our sister app, GALATEA and other formats.