The Last Summer

All Rights Reserved ©

Summary

One summer, in their "tropical paradise" hometown, three sisters come of age just as they are entangled in a murder plot. For fans of The Secret History or The Virgin Suicides.

Genre:
Mystery / Drama
Author:
Jady
Status:
Ongoing
Chapters:
1
Rating:
n/a
Age Rating:
18+

Introduction

I remember the humidity. Everything damp and sticky, like sweat replaced with sugary tree sap, and we're attracting flies. Bones melting, slowly enough that it feels like rubber, and you can't even lift an arm. Your brain is soup, sloshing thickly in your skull, and everything is warm and hazy. It's almost pleasant, in a masochistic, vaguely agonizing, kind of way. You wish you could retreat somewhere cooler, but there's a certain pleasure in letting your meat melt right off your bones.

I remember those days like an out-of-focus camera. Everything is colors, and blurry shapes. And sounds are more like emotional impressions. I don't remember what those days sounded like. But that was home. And that was life, back then. Or at least, that was life in the summer, in the south, in a tropical paradise.

Most of all, I remember my sisters. We were a matched set. Three little girls, charming, and sweet, and well-behaved. Idyllic and idealized. When I think of the way we were, back then, I see soft colors; the smudged pastels of my older sister; the dark, practical shades of our youngest.

Rosemary, the eldest. The great beauty of the family. The sweetest girl you would ever meet. Anxious, in equal parts, for affection and acceptance.

Rachel, the youngest. Intelligent, obedient, and organized. A girl scout, uninitiated, and a terribly talented athlete.

Myself, the ominous middle-child, prone to mood swings, with nothing to do but observe. Luisa, who was once a gifted child.

We were a group isolated. In a small town where children were introduced by their parentage, we were known for the distance we kept. Our parents were notoriously strict. So notorious, in fact, that friends stopped inviting us out, assuming correctly that we wouldn't be allowed anyway. Mothers encouraged sons to pursue us, knowing we weren't allowed to accept advances. That was just how things were, until the last summer.

Continue Reading
Further Recommendations

Bello: I really found this story good more than I even thought,it was so interesting, I have never read a story so interesting as this

ambaresalassa: Para empezar, las novelas jikook con esta temática son mis favoritas, es increíble que haya tantas historias con esta misma temática y sin embargo todas sean diferentes y te lleguen al corazón de distinta manera. El diálogo fue increíble, sentía que yo era uno de los personajes y me hablaban a mi...

jamie walker: As usual you hooked me right away. I am never disappointed in your work and you continue to get better. I wonder do you ever look back at your earlier work and have a different perspective.

M Jim Jung 💋: Me gusto que Jimin sea el alfa y Jungkook el omega me gusta asi 👻.Aunque no voy a negar que me acostumbre a ver a Jungkook como el alfa y a jimin como omega pero de las 2 formas me gusta. Por cierto linda historia. - M jim jung le da 5 estrellas 🌟 💋

Brittney: I loved it. A great short story.

Conleygina: The book was fantastic and I would recommend to all my friends. Rating is tops, because the book is also

scarbrough71: 💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜

Peter: This is an excellent story despite it being obvious that it will have a happy ending. I am sure there will be quite a few more dangerous surprises before we reach the end

Afeline Curmi: Love the story. The epilogue is lovely.❤️❤️

More Recommendations

poppybaepi27: Everything about this book is just amazing. Short and straight to the point chapters that make you long for more. Absolutely love it!👍🏼

Luana Beeler: Ich liebe die Story. Eigentlich mag ich Drama überhaupt nicht, aber in dieser Geschichte ist es gut verpackt.

Jennifer Stevens Johnson: This is one of my favorite quick reads for MC romance. The characters are relatable. The journey of love for them is fun to follow.

kiwiwatermelon28: I keep finding a lot of great reads that I forget to review and this one is very good besides the grammar mistakes I like the mc

Gift Pex: Nice peace of writing

About Us

Inkitt is the world’s first reader-powered publisher, providing a platform to discover hidden talents and turn them into globally successful authors. Write captivating stories, read enchanting novels, and we’ll publish the books our readers love most on our sister app, GALATEA and other formats.