The Last Summer

All Rights Reserved ©

Summary

One summer, in their "tropical paradise" hometown, three sisters come of age just as they are entangled in a murder plot. For fans of The Secret History or The Virgin Suicides.

Genre:
Mystery / Drama
Author:
Jady
Status:
Ongoing
Chapters:
1
Rating:
n/a
Age Rating:
18+

Introduction

I remember the humidity. Everything damp and sticky, like sweat replaced with sugary tree sap, and we're attracting flies. Bones melting, slowly enough that it feels like rubber, and you can't even lift an arm. Your brain is soup, sloshing thickly in your skull, and everything is warm and hazy. It's almost pleasant, in a masochistic, vaguely agonizing, kind of way. You wish you could retreat somewhere cooler, but there's a certain pleasure in letting your meat melt right off your bones.

I remember those days like an out-of-focus camera. Everything is colors, and blurry shapes. And sounds are more like emotional impressions. I don't remember what those days sounded like. But that was home. And that was life, back then. Or at least, that was life in the summer, in the south, in a tropical paradise.

Most of all, I remember my sisters. We were a matched set. Three little girls, charming, and sweet, and well-behaved. Idyllic and idealized. When I think of the way we were, back then, I see soft colors; the smudged pastels of my older sister; the dark, practical shades of our youngest.

Rosemary, the eldest. The great beauty of the family. The sweetest girl you would ever meet. Anxious, in equal parts, for affection and acceptance.

Rachel, the youngest. Intelligent, obedient, and organized. A girl scout, uninitiated, and a terribly talented athlete.

Myself, the ominous middle-child, prone to mood swings, with nothing to do but observe. Luisa, who was once a gifted child.

We were a group isolated. In a small town where children were introduced by their parentage, we were known for the distance we kept. Our parents were notoriously strict. So notorious, in fact, that friends stopped inviting us out, assuming correctly that we wouldn't be allowed anyway. Mothers encouraged sons to pursue us, knowing we weren't allowed to accept advances. That was just how things were, until the last summer.

Continue Reading
Further Recommendations

Afeline Curmi: Love the story. Can’t wait for mor stories❤️❤️

nillamilla660621: Please hon long till theres mor

Nateaya: This book had my emotions all over the place, 🤭got me frustrated with Emma, mad at Jake, angry at Marrisa and most intriguing plot really. I was not expecting the story to unfolds as it is but loving it anyway. Glad that Jake and Emma reconciled and back together. Now I’m kind of annoyed at Emma ...

Melanie: I loved the plot and fast pace when reading it. Maybe more meandering around the plot - could feel a little over edited. I did really enjoy it and wish you well x

Noorhayati Yahaya: Interesting plot

Cyndi Richardson: I loved this storyIt had everythinga Great story needsPlease continue to write You are very Good at itThank you

Tumalano: The book is amazing 😌

Vishwaa: I like how they just just along by the end!😍

More Recommendations

Nuhaa: Would recommend everyone to read. Such a lovely book

aaparnapandey: Such a roller-coaster ride..but amazing I cried my heart out such an emotional journey Very good

Imma: It was great. The best novel I have seen here so far.👍👍

crazygal609: Surprisingly Sweet💚 Couldn't stop reading till I finished the book📚 Loved the Tattoo!!🖤 Great Book💙💋💙

Keshini: Good book, no stalling and awesome story line. Love the suspense and romance

Peter: Good story line very good characters all round, well done fights, good but ot mushy love story. The author seems to be Good.

About Us

Inkitt is the world’s first reader-powered publisher, providing a platform to discover hidden talents and turn them into globally successful authors. Write captivating stories, read enchanting novels, and we’ll publish the books our readers love most on our sister app, GALATEA and other formats.