The Last Summer

All Rights Reserved ©

Summary

One summer, in their "tropical paradise" hometown, three sisters come of age just as they are entangled in a murder plot. For fans of The Secret History or The Virgin Suicides.

Genre:
Mystery / Drama
Author:
Jady
Status:
Ongoing
Chapters:
1
Rating:
n/a
Age Rating:
18+

Introduction

I remember the humidity. Everything damp and sticky, like sweat replaced with sugary tree sap, and we're attracting flies. Bones melting, slowly enough that it feels like rubber, and you can't even lift an arm. Your brain is soup, sloshing thickly in your skull, and everything is warm and hazy. It's almost pleasant, in a masochistic, vaguely agonizing, kind of way. You wish you could retreat somewhere cooler, but there's a certain pleasure in letting your meat melt right off your bones.

I remember those days like an out-of-focus camera. Everything is colors, and blurry shapes. And sounds are more like emotional impressions. I don't remember what those days sounded like. But that was home. And that was life, back then. Or at least, that was life in the summer, in the south, in a tropical paradise.

Most of all, I remember my sisters. We were a matched set. Three little girls, charming, and sweet, and well-behaved. Idyllic and idealized. When I think of the way we were, back then, I see soft colors; the smudged pastels of my older sister; the dark, practical shades of our youngest.

Rosemary, the eldest. The great beauty of the family. The sweetest girl you would ever meet. Anxious, in equal parts, for affection and acceptance.

Rachel, the youngest. Intelligent, obedient, and organized. A girl scout, uninitiated, and a terribly talented athlete.

Myself, the ominous middle-child, prone to mood swings, with nothing to do but observe. Luisa, who was once a gifted child.

We were a group isolated. In a small town where children were introduced by their parentage, we were known for the distance we kept. Our parents were notoriously strict. So notorious, in fact, that friends stopped inviting us out, assuming correctly that we wouldn't be allowed anyway. Mothers encouraged sons to pursue us, knowing we weren't allowed to accept advances. That was just how things were, until the last summer.

Continue Reading
Further Recommendations

McKenzie: This is so good i love it i cant wait for another update on whats going to happen.

Laura Smart: Lovely read and a lovely storyline

roselynpepito1004: Good plot,good grammar inspiring story.

Kristen Elias: I really love this plot. Can't wait to find out how many mates she has. Next chapter here I come. Hopefully...

Jd Nox: I like it! No unnecessary dramas. This kind of story happens in real life. Where I live, arrange marriages still happens and some really end up loving each other in the end. Thanks author! I will recommend this to my friends. 😘

Margaret: Great plot and unique story line. Kudos author.

Lost: It made me an emotional reck I can relate to some of the situations kinda cliche but it was good overall

Goddess: Love it. Captivating and exciting.

More Recommendations

Pamela Jean Morris: Love this story. Please update soon. Can’t wait to read more.

tonymartin61: I liked the fact she was made to come so many times

bigmama7297: OMG I loved this story! You had me crying laughing pissed off but I couldn’t put it down. Great job!! I look forward to reading more of your work 🥰

gonemutsinog: I wish the chapters were a little longer but will take what I can get. Several plots going at once I like that.

scionmama18: L♥️VE it!! As usual NEED WHOLE story!! Want to see Cora knock Elle & other hot to trot big mouthed heifers on their asses!! Lol.

Macy14: Nice storyy!Please update soon!

About Us

Inkitt is the world’s first reader-powered publisher, providing a platform to discover hidden talents and turn them into globally successful authors. Write captivating stories, read enchanting novels, and we’ll publish the books our readers love most on our sister app, GALATEA and other formats.