The Last Summer

All Rights Reserved ©

Summary

One summer, in their "tropical paradise" hometown, three sisters come of age just as they are entangled in a murder plot. For fans of The Secret History or The Virgin Suicides.

Genre:
Mystery / Drama
Author:
Jady
Status:
Ongoing
Chapters:
1
Rating:
n/a
Age Rating:
18+

Introduction

I remember the humidity. Everything damp and sticky, like sweat replaced with sugary tree sap, and we're attracting flies. Bones melting, slowly enough that it feels like rubber, and you can't even lift an arm. Your brain is soup, sloshing thickly in your skull, and everything is warm and hazy. It's almost pleasant, in a masochistic, vaguely agonizing, kind of way. You wish you could retreat somewhere cooler, but there's a certain pleasure in letting your meat melt right off your bones.

I remember those days like an out-of-focus camera. Everything is colors, and blurry shapes. And sounds are more like emotional impressions. I don't remember what those days sounded like. But that was home. And that was life, back then. Or at least, that was life in the summer, in the south, in a tropical paradise.

Most of all, I remember my sisters. We were a matched set. Three little girls, charming, and sweet, and well-behaved. Idyllic and idealized. When I think of the way we were, back then, I see soft colors; the smudged pastels of my older sister; the dark, practical shades of our youngest.

Rosemary, the eldest. The great beauty of the family. The sweetest girl you would ever meet. Anxious, in equal parts, for affection and acceptance.

Rachel, the youngest. Intelligent, obedient, and organized. A girl scout, uninitiated, and a terribly talented athlete.

Myself, the ominous middle-child, prone to mood swings, with nothing to do but observe. Luisa, who was once a gifted child.

We were a group isolated. In a small town where children were introduced by their parentage, we were known for the distance we kept. Our parents were notoriously strict. So notorious, in fact, that friends stopped inviting us out, assuming correctly that we wouldn't be allowed anyway. Mothers encouraged sons to pursue us, knowing we weren't allowed to accept advances. That was just how things were, until the last summer.

Continue Reading
Further Recommendations

Imelda Mel Lazo Gesite: I love it! Easy to understand. Choice of words is OK.

Teju01: Great characters and their bonding❤️great story 😘

ritakabuleta: Very touching and almost real. It opens our eyes to the fact that there are alway consequences to our mistakes!Great story

Antrohs: Excellent book! Well done TOSmith! Loved it, the only discrepancy was Logan's hair color in the beginning...I liked visualizing dark hair with blue eyes better than the blonde actually 🙂

Don: Top storyKindly update soon please I can't wait to see what will happen next

ekharvey69: Love this book.. think Remi gonna kill a TJ.

sarkarishika007: I like da story!! Its so interesting 😂 I can't wait to read more 😂🙃💕 plz.continue da story don't end it

Bolaji: Love the novel👍😘

Michi: This is by far one of my favorite books!! I love the whole book! There were so minor grammar issues but the plot was amazing!

More Recommendations

Anastasiya Gomes: Aaaawwww 😭 loved it

ronakkhanna449: Great book for those who likes to read romantic novel

Mysterious: I freaking loved this book at fast I wasn't sure about the abuse parts but then it showed that women can fight the abuse that happen to them from men and it was great I can't wait to read more from the author great writer I hope this book gets all the fame from the world because it's amazing!!!!!!

DREW_L8R: Hi, I just wanted to know if you could be so kind as to finish the book on here, as well. I mean, dont get me wrong, I absolutely love Galatea but sometimes it just gets frustrating to have to wait for a full twenty four hours, until you can read the next chapter. And as patient as I am I'm not c...

About Us

Inkitt is the world’s first reader-powered publisher, providing a platform to discover hidden talents and turn them into globally successful authors. Write captivating stories, read enchanting novels, and we’ll publish the books our readers love most on our sister app, GALATEA and other formats.