The Last Summer

All Rights Reserved ©

Summary

One summer, in their "tropical paradise" hometown, three sisters come of age just as they are entangled in a murder plot. For fans of The Secret History or The Virgin Suicides.

Genre:
Mystery / Drama
Author:
Jady
Status:
Ongoing
Chapters:
1
Rating:
n/a
Age Rating:
18+

Introduction

I remember the humidity. Everything damp and sticky, like sweat replaced with sugary tree sap, and we're attracting flies. Bones melting, slowly enough that it feels like rubber, and you can't even lift an arm. Your brain is soup, sloshing thickly in your skull, and everything is warm and hazy. It's almost pleasant, in a masochistic, vaguely agonizing, kind of way. You wish you could retreat somewhere cooler, but there's a certain pleasure in letting your meat melt right off your bones.

I remember those days like an out-of-focus camera. Everything is colors, and blurry shapes. And sounds are more like emotional impressions. I don't remember what those days sounded like. But that was home. And that was life, back then. Or at least, that was life in the summer, in the south, in a tropical paradise.

Most of all, I remember my sisters. We were a matched set. Three little girls, charming, and sweet, and well-behaved. Idyllic and idealized. When I think of the way we were, back then, I see soft colors; the smudged pastels of my older sister; the dark, practical shades of our youngest.

Rosemary, the eldest. The great beauty of the family. The sweetest girl you would ever meet. Anxious, in equal parts, for affection and acceptance.

Rachel, the youngest. Intelligent, obedient, and organized. A girl scout, uninitiated, and a terribly talented athlete.

Myself, the ominous middle-child, prone to mood swings, with nothing to do but observe. Luisa, who was once a gifted child.

We were a group isolated. In a small town where children were introduced by their parentage, we were known for the distance we kept. Our parents were notoriously strict. So notorious, in fact, that friends stopped inviting us out, assuming correctly that we wouldn't be allowed anyway. Mothers encouraged sons to pursue us, knowing we weren't allowed to accept advances. That was just how things were, until the last summer.

Continue Reading
Further Recommendations

Sharon: The story line is very interesting. Its thexsuspence a d romance thays intriguing. Cant wait to find out what happens when they go tp Seattle

Sarah J: When I started reading this book it became very clear it was nothing like the first book that I really enjoyed. However once I got into this book as well I did end up really enjoying it. The characters are great even tho I was rather disappointed with the Alpha from the last book. I'm definitely ...

huriya089: I think the author has displayed a very good understanding of the characters and I am thoughrly enjoying reading this

ameia: Jjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj

Nuhaa: Ive started the first book on galateea as soon as i finished it there i came here for the second book before you remove it. It was worth it doe. Love it

Karen Esterhuizen: Nope nothing more

Alone in oz: Just re-read and it still makes me all gooey inside,,❤️

belsimpson79: Love this story. Thanks much author 🥰❤💚💛🥰

courtney090912: Loved this story! Couldn’t get enough just had to keep reading

More Recommendations

Nellouise Thomas: Great storyline, good pace. I loved it.

Rhonda: Loved it wish it wouls of been longer

shamramroop: Excellent story line. Would really like to know the outcome if her life though.So many young people are going through similar problems.Hope she learns from her parents mistakes, and not fall for someone who would take advantage of her.I also hope you have not put Abe into that role, but instead ...

Annelin Viste: So Sweet, this time it havs to end well for Cassie and Dom 🙏🙏🥰

bplunkett2003: I loved both stories about Ruby and her family and friends. I can relate to Ruby in a lot of ways.

About Us

Inkitt is the world’s first reader-powered publisher, providing a platform to discover hidden talents and turn them into globally successful authors. Write captivating stories, read enchanting novels, and we’ll publish the books our readers love most on our sister app, GALATEA and other formats.