The Last Summer

All Rights Reserved ©

Summary

One summer, in their "tropical paradise" hometown, three sisters come of age just as they are entangled in a murder plot. For fans of The Secret History or The Virgin Suicides.

Genre:
Mystery / Drama
Author:
Jady
Status:
Ongoing
Chapters:
1
Rating:
n/a
Age Rating:
18+

Introduction

I remember the humidity. Everything damp and sticky, like sweat replaced with sugary tree sap, and we're attracting flies. Bones melting, slowly enough that it feels like rubber, and you can't even lift an arm. Your brain is soup, sloshing thickly in your skull, and everything is warm and hazy. It's almost pleasant, in a masochistic, vaguely agonizing, kind of way. You wish you could retreat somewhere cooler, but there's a certain pleasure in letting your meat melt right off your bones.

I remember those days like an out-of-focus camera. Everything is colors, and blurry shapes. And sounds are more like emotional impressions. I don't remember what those days sounded like. But that was home. And that was life, back then. Or at least, that was life in the summer, in the south, in a tropical paradise.

Most of all, I remember my sisters. We were a matched set. Three little girls, charming, and sweet, and well-behaved. Idyllic and idealized. When I think of the way we were, back then, I see soft colors; the smudged pastels of my older sister; the dark, practical shades of our youngest.

Rosemary, the eldest. The great beauty of the family. The sweetest girl you would ever meet. Anxious, in equal parts, for affection and acceptance.

Rachel, the youngest. Intelligent, obedient, and organized. A girl scout, uninitiated, and a terribly talented athlete.

Myself, the ominous middle-child, prone to mood swings, with nothing to do but observe. Luisa, who was once a gifted child.

We were a group isolated. In a small town where children were introduced by their parentage, we were known for the distance we kept. Our parents were notoriously strict. So notorious, in fact, that friends stopped inviting us out, assuming correctly that we wouldn't be allowed anyway. Mothers encouraged sons to pursue us, knowing we weren't allowed to accept advances. That was just how things were, until the last summer.

Continue Reading
Further Recommendations

Riddhi Rana: I loved this book.. it was really very loving..

Joseph Kuklinski: It is a wonderful story, w great characters

Rebecca Yearian: This made me sad that she didnt even read the letter before judging him i hope everything ends up alright

amethystcolianni: I loved this book and I can't wait for the sequel to come out. Thank you for making this book!😊😊

Shanita taylor: I love this book so far. I would recommend it to everybody.

kanza raees: Amazing work

Novi Agustina: It's one of the sweet story I've ever read. I just love it.

Iris : Just Finished also just finished Crying this book was so great I Loved it

K Brockton: It was great. That's for finishing...☺️☺️☺️

More Recommendations

Shameka: What a bitch for turning their backs they are all followers Just sad no one gave her a chance but Henry and the Doc

joanna oluchi: Very interesting n hard to drop story. I don't like d father's behavior tho don't know his reason yet. Great author

Teah Polk: Why so you put the review in the middle of the book and not the end you stop me from reading and force me to do this review with atleast 20 words its very aggrivating

oldieagoldie: I honestly liked everything about the book. There were a few grammar mistakes, but it did not take away from the plot. I would recommend this book to somebody who wants a good laugh with a side of tears. This book received five stars from me and kudos to the author.

maj1394: Don’t start a story on her and then move it to a app honestly I really liked this story but doing what you are doing by making people pay more for a book then it is on amazon is fucked so tired of this I miss the old days when people wrote books just for the love of it it’s sad and that app you p...

About Us:

Inkitt is the world’s first reader-powered book publisher, offering an online community for talented authors and book lovers. Write captivating stories, read enchanting novels, and we’ll publish the books you love the most based on crowd wisdom.