The Last Summer

All Rights Reserved ©

Summary

One summer, in their "tropical paradise" hometown, three sisters come of age just as they are entangled in a murder plot. For fans of The Secret History or The Virgin Suicides.

Genre:
Mystery / Drama
Author:
Jady
Status:
Ongoing
Chapters:
1
Rating:
n/a
Age Rating:
18+

Introduction

I remember the humidity. Everything damp and sticky, like sweat replaced with sugary tree sap, and we're attracting flies. Bones melting, slowly enough that it feels like rubber, and you can't even lift an arm. Your brain is soup, sloshing thickly in your skull, and everything is warm and hazy. It's almost pleasant, in a masochistic, vaguely agonizing, kind of way. You wish you could retreat somewhere cooler, but there's a certain pleasure in letting your meat melt right off your bones.

I remember those days like an out-of-focus camera. Everything is colors, and blurry shapes. And sounds are more like emotional impressions. I don't remember what those days sounded like. But that was home. And that was life, back then. Or at least, that was life in the summer, in the south, in a tropical paradise.

Most of all, I remember my sisters. We were a matched set. Three little girls, charming, and sweet, and well-behaved. Idyllic and idealized. When I think of the way we were, back then, I see soft colors; the smudged pastels of my older sister; the dark, practical shades of our youngest.

Rosemary, the eldest. The great beauty of the family. The sweetest girl you would ever meet. Anxious, in equal parts, for affection and acceptance.

Rachel, the youngest. Intelligent, obedient, and organized. A girl scout, uninitiated, and a terribly talented athlete.

Myself, the ominous middle-child, prone to mood swings, with nothing to do but observe. Luisa, who was once a gifted child.

We were a group isolated. In a small town where children were introduced by their parentage, we were known for the distance we kept. Our parents were notoriously strict. So notorious, in fact, that friends stopped inviting us out, assuming correctly that we wouldn't be allowed anyway. Mothers encouraged sons to pursue us, knowing we weren't allowed to accept advances. That was just how things were, until the last summer.

Continue Reading
Further Recommendations

herediamanda90: At first I was worried at how fast it was going but now I’m interested and wanting more. I think you did a good job at the ending and the extra POV that hooked us all in making us want more! Can’t wait to read the next book <3

Kiana: I love it..it just that sometimes too much sex scenes. Tgey need to have scenes were they only make out.

Darla: This story had me in tears at late night it was amazing I couldn’t take my eyes off it

Kaylala: Really love the book and all the vibes it gave me I enjoyed reading it♥️🍓 🙏🏽👏🏾

Nicola Lawton: What a refreshing story! I really enjoyed the characters differences, they were so much fun. Well done.

jeoutten: Wasn't too long of a story and had a good plot without excessive drama.Really enjoyed the characters and some scenes that struck me and will stick in my imagination for sometime

Charlotte: Loved this so much! I was so into it I read the rest before writing this but I’m so glad you’re still going with it because it’s a very addicting story! ♥️

Sash Gaffoor: Absolutely love this plot and the story has me hooked, looking forward to reading more

Umu Shour: U are really an amazing writer author 🥰I have read almost all ur books u are really great 💙💙💙and this one also is muah 💜much love

More Recommendations

Diana: I don't like stories that have no ending, and this is a good story as it kept me reading and wanting more

Cj Tukana: Awesome story line right now...

galaxy_girl: A sweet book. I love how Eden grow up. Linzvonc is a wonderful writer.

Kat-green-eyes: Really recommend this book. I just started reading and can't put it down. Their relationship is like an elastic band. Hope they throw the elastic band and come together.

About Us

Inkitt is the world’s first reader-powered publisher, providing a platform to discover hidden talents and turn them into globally successful authors. Write captivating stories, read enchanting novels, and we’ll publish the books our readers love most on our sister app, GALATEA and other formats.