Portents of Mother’s Gate

All Rights Reserved ©

Summary

In a world rife with prophesy, the future is already written, and the predictions of yesteryear become the story books of today. As the Chronicles of Mother’s Gate unfold, scholars interpret portents old and new to decipher the future of the Known World and publish fresh details for an eager public. This is a story book of that era, a contemporary publication of epic poetry recounting heroic deeds of the past, the present, and the coming future.

Genre:
Poetry / Fantasy
Author:
D.N.Frost
Status:
Complete
Chapters:
62
Rating:
5.0 1 review
Age Rating:
16+

Forward: A Note on Prophetic Poetry

The poems in this book are prophetic. They predict events from the fantasy saga Tales of the Known World, some of which have come to pass in published books, and others which will come to pass in future books.

These prophesies are poems that tell a story. They are sequenced by the date at which they come to pass, and they follow the unfolding events of the first four books of the saga.

But they are also riddles. Each portent is a single piece of an ongoing puzzle, and you must interpret the pieces in order to determine the events that they predict.

In the Known World, the elusive merfolk are gifted with the ability to prophesy. However, each individual portent must be interpreted before it can be placed in chronological order and published in a story book like this one. These story books are considered the epic poetry of the merfolk, and oral readings are a popular pastime.

Due to the volume of prophesy that is recorded every day, events in some portents inevitably overlap with events from other portents. This phenomenon is called the tattering, and interpreters study these overlaps to infer an unbroken stream of future events. Countless scholars have devoted their lives to the tattering of prophesy, which spans generations.

However, this tattering can make it difficult to sequence full prophesies chronologically, since certain sections may come to pass at different times.

In these instances, a prophesy is annotated into its disparate sections, called tatters, and the prophesy is sequenced in multiple locations.

The tatter of chronological significance is further annotated with the date it comes to pass, which cues readers to sequence only the events of that particular tatter in story book order. For a thorough explanation of prophesy tattering and annotation, see APPENDIX III.




The rest of this “chapter” contains the front matter for the published book: advanced praise, my publication list, copyright, dedication, acknowledgments, and table of contents.

Scroll through if you’re interested, or skip straight to the next chapter to start reading!




Incredible world-building!”M.L Spencer, author of The Rhenwars Saga

Praise for groundbreaking author
D.N.Frost’s Tales of the Known World novels

AWAKENING

“I was on the edge of my seat as I turned each page. Looking for a novel that is hard to put down? Look no further. A fantasy novel you will never forget!” – Steven Daniel Books

“Unique world-building with magical imagery that delights the senses. Maps are sprinkled throughout . . . The climatic ending is fast-paced and takes unexpected turns. I recommend to readers who love world-building and vivid imagery of how magic works.” – Linnea Tanner, New Apple Summer and Global Ebooks award-winning author of the Curse of Clansmen and Kings series

“A rare treat, a spark of uniqueness that makes [fantasy] feel new again. Both gripping and beautiful, the book fantasy fans only dreamed about until now.” – Readers’ Favorite

“Anyone who likes epic fantasy is going to love this saga.” – Alberto Guaita Tello, author of The Eyes of the Sea

“Wow. Top-notch . . . contains several subtle forms of brilliance that induce a deep, cerebral pause. The author does an excellent job.” – Jocelyn Crawley, editor of WordHelps

“As beautifully written as it is captivating.” Alithea G. of California

“The world brought to life is so amazing and rich with culture. I haven’t felt this strongly about a book since The Dark Elf Trilogy by R.A. Salvatore. I can hardly wait for the next book!” – J.R. Cooper of Texas

“A truly good book. It’s hard to put down.” Edward O. of Michigan

“One of the most amazing books I’ve ever had the pleasure to read! Frost really knows how to enrapture the reader and create a fantastic world.” – Bellatrix L.S. of Texas (starred review)

“Hell of an end. Can’t wait for more!” – Julia D. of New Jersey

“Ideal for fans of Andre Norton, Mercedes Lackey, Brent Weeks. Gripping, fluidly written. Frost’s characters are involved, complex and brimming with an enlightened spark.” – Jessie H. of Texas (starred review)

“Unbridled, uncontrived, and groundbreaking. This story really stands out, with puzzle pieces that snap together in satisfying succession. Keep ’em coming!” – Jesse V. of Michigan

“Gripping from the very first page, the story unfolds like a great epic tapestry. Want fantasy, dragons, and a book you just can’t stop reading? Go for it.” – Albert of U.S.A. (starred review)

“Once I started it, I couldn’t put it down. As you read – no, consume – this book, you are pulled along with the whirlwind of the character’s experience. Bravo!” – Sarah D. of New York (starred review)

“You won’t be able to put it down! The characters are center-stage, but Frost also creates a world that becomes vivid in the reader’s imagination.” – Mike B. of Pennsylvania (starred review)

“Very well written fantasy, exciting and gripping, [with] a whole world supplied freely by the author’s website. Become lost in an engaging plot and a very plausible alternative world.” – Cathy of U.K. (starred review)

“Poetic prophecies, detailed maps, and a tense plot. Traditional fantasy races and creatures all have a twist to them. Frost manages the cast of distinctive characters and weaves their stories through many unexpected twists and turns.” – Readers’ Favorite

“Frost is a consummate world-builder. Characters are complex and three-dimensional. If you love Anne McCaffrey, J.R.R. Tolkien and Tad Williams, Awakening is a novel you want. The plot is fast-paced and entertaining. A spectacular accomplishment.” – M.L Spencer, author of the Rhenwars Saga

Advanced praise for BROKEN

“The characterization was impressive. Frost made unlikable, seemingly irredeemable characters rootable, or at least sympathetic. Fast-paced, humor, tension, excitement, foreboding, heartbreaking. Excellent sequel!” – Dana V.

“Exciting, suspenseful, and constantly left me wanting more. I felt a connection with every character that stretched over a very wide range of emotions. I eagerly wait for the next installment.” – J.R. Cooper

“Frost does a fantastic job of creating full worlds and dynamic characters, as well as character relationships, all tied together with heady imagery. Plus, subscribing to her website gets you free access to all sorts of neat things to bring you closer to this wonderful fantasy world.” – Savannah B.




Also by D.N.Frost
Tales of the Known World

Set I ~ Chronicles of Mother’s Gate
PORTENTS OF MOTHER’S GATE ~ Story Book
First Bookend ~ SCRIBE ASCRIBED & TRIBE UNTIED
AWAKENING ~ Book One
Second Bookend ~ WAKING UP & FALLING DOWN
BROKEN ~ Book Two
Third Bookend ~ VAST ASLEEP & RIDE AWAKE

Coming Soon

CONCEIVED ~ Book Three
DIVINE ~ Book Four
Set II ~ The Rise of the House of Grishem

Additional Titles

For Kindle ~ FANTASY MAP MAKER JUMP START: 61 Easy Tips for Fantasy World Building with Real Earth Science




TOTKW
Published by TotKW Books
An imprint of D.N.Frost Publications
Copyright © 2017 by D.N.Frost

D.N.Frost Publications endorses copyright and creative ownership. Thank you for supporting authors and free speech by upholding copyright law and buying an official copy of this publication. This book may not be reproduced in whole or in part, in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording, or by any information storage and retrieval system now known or hereafter invented, without written permission from the publisher, except for the use of brief quotations in a book review.

Tales of the Known World Saga
www.DNFrost.com
ISBN: 978-1981541904
All rights reserved under the Pan-American and International Copyright Conventions.

First Publication, 2017
Printed in the United States of America
10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1
Cover art, cover design, book design, and maps by D.N.Frost
This book is a work of fiction.




For once, and for all.




ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

I want to thank my aunt Dana for inspiring this book, and I want to thank my mother Linda for supporting my work. Thank you both for making this book possible.

I also thank Jeffery, Charles, Christina, and Derek for our incredible mastermind of fantasy worldbuilders. Thank you for the knowledge, motivation, and accountability you have provided me.

My thanks also go out to Remy for your steadfast enthusiasm; to Matt, Hannah, and Lorna for your interest and encouragement; to each and every reader for your time and book reviews; and to all my fans and subscribers for joining my tribe and reminding me you are why I do what I do.



TABLE OF CONTENTS

Forward: A Note on Prophetic Poetry

Portents of Awakening: Book One
Portents of Broken: Book Two
Portents of Conceived: Book Three
Portents of Divine: Book Four

Forward: A Note on the Uncommon Spelling of ‘Prophesy’
Appendix I: Jargon & Terminology
Appendix II: Dates & Accreditation
Appendix III: Tattering & Annotation
Appendix IV: The Prophetic Cycle & Interpretation
Appendix V: The Cultural Impact of Prophesy

Continue Reading Next Chapter
Further Recommendations

Steph Crabtree: Another good story. I don’t like how callums life has gone but of course I’m not fully done with the story. Not everything can be sunshine and roses and the author has done a great job capturing all of the families paths they have taken.

Fran Albizu: This is a great story with a very good plot That keeps the readers guessing on what the characters are going to do next

Shirley Penley Canipe: Very good story

jessicaspannsphone: I really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really r...

maoher07: A very interesting story. Everything is a mystery, from the origin of the beasts, to the background of the characters and the story line itself. I’m hooked, and excited for the next chapter. Minor grammar mistakes. Update when you can!

Clara Lee Chikwama: The novel was good but I think it needs some major editing when it comes to some speiling errors and all. The POV well it was okay but the only problem I had was on the fact that the author had to spend another half of the chapter retelling the story of what happened between the two protagonists....

Alexandria Newell: It was good but the whole story should be there.

Adely Vega: I AM really enjoying to read this book love it , but poor Jack

More Recommendations

nico 101: Its ok i did enjoy it there are things that I do not like. But it was not so bad

mcgregiorlisaann51: Intriguing storyline great balance and passion with action and romance a great sense of family also excellent reading totally enjoyable looking forward to the rest of the books kudos to the author

Jessica: Love the plot line, can't wait for the next chapter

Dinabeth: I like the story line very much....but lyla is too harsh

About Us

Inkitt is the world’s first reader-powered publisher, providing a platform to discover hidden talents and turn them into globally successful authors. Write captivating stories, read enchanting novels, and we’ll publish the books our readers love most on our sister app, GALATEA and other formats.