J.M. Wendel

Overall Rating
Plot
Writing Style
Grammar Punctuation

Interesting Concept

Enjoying the world and the characters so far. Good pacing. It's been easy reading to this point.

Read the story now
Overall Rating
Plot
Writing Style
Grammar Punctuation

Spirit Fuel.

This book is a great look at the journey of a person determined to do great things. Yes, wrestling is involved, but it is SO much more than that. An honest look at the ups and downs of relationships and the struggle of making time for others while making time for yourself.

Not since Andre Agassi's book Open, has such a spellbinding work on the slings and arrows of highest level sports been mixed with honest story telling of the behind the scenes struggles: the weight, the diet, the pain, the family, the job, the goals and the disappointments, all the good, bad, and ugly.

This book is for anyone looking to be inspired or looking for answers. Discover how discipline, rather than being a prison, brings freedom. Scheduling, organizing, setting goals, following plans, there is so much wisdom and experience one can absorb by taking this journey with the writer.

He once said this was a niche book about wrestling, NO. This is a HUMAN's journey relatable to anyone alive and can and should be as well known as the aforementioned Open by Agassi. Please read this book, even if you don't need a push or a plan. Read this book and find yourself better in the physical, better in the spiritual, and birth a new longing to work to reach your biggest dreams.

Read the story now
Overall Rating
Plot
Writing Style
Grammar Punctuation

Dark, Despairing, and Oh So Delightful

The style of the author stuck out right away. His ability to turn a phrase or set a scene is simply enjoyable and would make the book worth reading if the plot and characters weren’t any good, but they are, so get ready for a dark ride through a town with a powerful secret and a handful of well written, fully fleshed out characters whose destruction may be written in the stars, or in the bloodstain of a basement wall.

I found myself completely drawn in by the protagonist and his desperate situation with an old widow who is more than she at first seems. The creepy factor of this story cannot be overstated. If you are a fan of spine chilling moments and stories by Stephen King (or the old series Scary Stories To Tell In The Dark) you will find this read very tasty, even succulent, at once repulsive but also magnetic, a great many emotions were stirred up. There were scenes where I was sickened, scared, sympathetic and screaming WHAT? So great.

I would say if you are thinking of reading this book, just read the first chapter and you will find yourself done with the last page by nightfall. Highly recommend. Five stars.

Read the story now
Overall Rating
Plot
Writing Style
Grammar Punctuation

An Interesting Work in Progress

This book is in the vein of Maze Runner and Divergent and lovers of dystopian novels will enjoy it. The struggle of this book is its grammar and ability to communicate clearly, but there are moments of great description and similes. The book is not done, and these chapters need some cleaning up, but the potential is there for an interesting sci fi novel.

Read the story now
Overall Rating
Plot
Writing Style
Grammar Punctuation

Good read. Unsatisfying End.

The premise was interesting and the questions had me reading for answers- alot like the tv show Lost in that way. The voice was good and the story gruesome at times. Fast paced and great main character. The ending was not so great (unfinished business), but may allude to another book.

Read the story now

No reading lists yet

No badges received yet

About Us:

Inkitt is the world’s first reader-powered book publisher, offering an online community for talented authors and book lovers. Write captivating stories, read enchanting novels, and we’ll publish the books you love the most based on crowd wisdom.